If you are in crisis, call the 24 HOUR ACCESS HelpLine
1-888-793-4357
 Introducing
 NAMI DC's newly elected
 BOARD of DIRECTORS

 Officers

 Jean Harris, RN, MSN, CNA
 President 
 (president@namidc.org)

 Chaplain Robert Renix,
 BCCI, ACPE Supervisor
 Vice President
 (vp@namidc.org)

 Mary Beckett, MBA
 Secretary
 (secretary@namidc.org)

 Susan Ousley
 Assistant Secretary
(sousley@namidc.org)

 Robert Thurston, 
 MA, MS
 Treasurer
(treasurer@namidc.org)

Mary Jean DiPietro, MA
Assistant Treasurer​
(mdipietro@namidc.org)

Kent Alford, RN, BSN, MSNc
(kalford@namidc.org)

LeGrande Baldwin
(lbaldwin@namidc.org)

Michelle Jackson, CPS
Consumer Council 
Representative
(mjackson@namidc.org)
​ 
Noreen Mansfield
(nmansfield@namidc.org

Cynthia Marshall
(cmarshall@namidc.org)

Stephanie Musa
(smusa@namidc.org)

 Seetal Parikh
(sparikh@namidc.org)


 Kristal Wortham
 Executive Director
 ​(ed@namidc.org)

 Merion D. Kane
 Founding President

Governance tools
Click here for 
NAMI Board Operating Policies and Procedures

Click here for NAMI DC Bylaws


NAMI DC WEEKLY 
SUPPORT GROUP
EVERY WEDNESDAY
7-9 PM
HILL CENTER
921 PENNSYLVANIA 
AVENUE SE
WASHINGTON, DC 20003
NEAREST METRO STATION: EASTERN MARKET 
(BLUE/ORANGE/
SILVER LINES)
FREE
CONFIDENTIAL
WALK-INS WELCOME
NAMI DC will maintain the confidentiality of the
mailing list and shall not sell, lease, rent, trade, transmit, or otherwise disseminate the mailing list in whole or in part, to any third party without the express prior written approval.


MORE WAYS
 TO SUPPORT NAMI DC

10 YEARS AGO, A MOVEMENT BEGAN
Inspired by Bebe Moore Campbell's charge to eliminate stigma and provide mental health information, longtime friend, Linda Wharton-Boyd, suggested dedicating a month to the effort.

"Once my loved ones accepted the diagnosis, healing began for the entire family, but it took too long. It took years. Can't we, as a nation, begin to speed up that process? We need a national campaign to destigmatize mental illness, especially one targeted toward African Americans...It's not shameful to have a mental illness. Get treatment. Recovery is possible." 
Bebe Moore Campbell, 2005 

Published on 
Jul 10, 2012
Music is healing: Masipula Sithole Jr. from NAMI Washington DC shares about the important role music plays in his recovery.


REMINDER: NAMI DC IS ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS TO BECOME A NAMI FAMILY-TO-FAMILY FACILITATOR 
CONTACT US AT 
202-546-0646 OR NAMIDC@NAMIDC.ORG


422 8th Street SE Washington, DC 20003  Office: 202-546-0646  Fax: 202-546-6817   namidc@namidc.org
Reconozca los
síntomas de alerta

Preocupaciones o miedos excesivos
Demasiada sensación de tristeza o decaimiento
Confusión o problemas para concentrarse y aprender
Cambios extremos en el ánimo, incluso episodios de bienestar incontrolable o de euforia
Sentimientos prolongados o fuertes de irritabilidad o ira
Falta de interés por los amigos y las actividades sociales
Dificultades para entender o relacionarse con otras personas
Cambios en los hábitos del sueño o sensación de cansancio y energía baja
Cambios en los hábitos alimenticios, como aumento del hambre o falta de apetito
Cambios en el deseo sexual
Dificultad para percibir la realidad (delirios o alucinaciones, en los que una persona ve y siente cosas que no existen en la realidad objetiva)
Incapacidad de percibir cambios en la personalidad, la conducta o los sentimientos propios (“falta de introspección” o anosognosia)
Abuso de sustancias como alcohol o drogas
Múltiples dolencias físicas sin causa aparente (por ejemplo, dolores de cabeza, dolores estomacales, molestias inespecíficas y continuas)
Pensamientos suicidas
Imposibilidad de llevar a cabo las actividades diarias o de controlar el estrés y los problemas cotidianos
Gran miedo de aumentar de peso o muchos problemas con el aspecto (principalmente en los adolescentes)
Las condiciones de salud mental también pueden empezar a desarrollarse en niños pequeños. Debido a que todavía están aprendiendo a identificar y a hablar sobre sus pensamientos y emociones, los síntomas más evidentes son conductuales. Entre los síntomas en los niños, pueden incluirse los siguientes:

Cambios en el desempeño escolar
Preocupación o ansiedad excesiva, por ejemplo, pelearse para evitar ir a la cama o a la escuela
Conducta hiperactiva
Pesadillas frecuentes
Desobediencia o agresión frecuentes
Rabietas frecuentes
CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE